Conservation Philosophiy

Conserving the unique biodiversity of the Comoros is one of Dahari’s key objectives. We believe that the preservation of endemic and endangered species is important in itself and we also recognise the role played by the majority of species in maintaining ecosystems and ecosystem servicessuch as soil fertility and the water cycle.

why conservation in the comoros?

The small size of the Comoro Islands means that the interdependency between humans and biodiversityis very marked. Despite being among the five most important biodiversity hotspots in the world, the Comoros is very behind in its implementation of conservation measures. Added to this aregrowing demographic pressures, resulting in deforestation and a lossofsoil fertility, which not only constitute a threat to biodiversity, but also to a local populationdependent on natural resources.

Dahari’s conservation approach

Our conservation philosophy follows some basic principles:

– It isessential that priority is given to improving living conditions before implementing environmental protection measures as this will ensure that biodiversity is preserved and that a population’sliving standardscan bemaintained in the long term.
– From an ethical point of view, the local populationmust benefit from the conservation measures that are set up, and not be adversely affected by them. These populations must also decide what conservation measures are implemented and manage the initiatives undertaken. These two conditions guarantee the long-term success of an intervention.
– Interventions must be founded on science and on a principle of ‘best practice’which draws onapproximately thirty years of global experience in participatory conservation work.

In the Comoros, there is a significant lack of scientific data to help identify andorient conservation measures. As a result, the ECDD Project, from which Dahariwas born,set the objective of creating a broad base of ecological data and ofproducing forest maps and endangered species distribution models. Now that this groundwork has been completed, Dahari is seeking to develop its conversation initiatives based on the priorities identified. Find out more about our conservation activities.

Back to conservation

Philosophie de Conservation

La conservation de la biodiversité unique des Comores est l’un des objectifs phares de Dahari. Nous estimons que la préservation des espèces endémiques et menacées est importante en elle-même, en outre nous reconnaissons le rôle que joue la plupart des espèces dans le maintien des écosystèmes et des services qui en découlent comme la fertilité des sols et le cycle de l’eau. 

Pourquoi la conservation aux Comores?

Aux Comores, la petite taille du territoire rend l’interdépendance entre l’homme et la biodiversité encore plus étroite. Malgré que les Comores font partie des cinq hot spots les plus importants pour la biodiversité dans le monde, le pays est très en retard sur la mise en place des mesures de conservation. De plus, la pression démographique croissante provoque  des problèmes de perte de fertilité des sols et de déforestation, ce qui constitue une menace non seulement pour la biodiversité, mais également pour la population locale qui dépend des ressources naturelles.

L’approche de conservation de Dahari

Notre philosophie de conservation suit quelques principes de base :

– Il  est primordial de prioriser l’amélioration des conditions de vie avant de mettre en place des mesures de protection environnementales, qui assureront la préservation de la biodiversité et le soutien du niveau de vie de la population sur le long-terme.
– D’un point de vue éthique, la population locale doit bénéficier des mesures de conservation mises en place, au lieu d’en être affectée d’une manière négative. C’est également ces populations qui doivent prendre les décisions sur les mesures de conservation, et qui doivent gérer les initiatives. Ces deux conditions sont les garantes d’une réussite à long-terme des interventions.
– Les interventions doivent être fondées sur une base scientifique et un principe de “best practice” tirés d’une trentaine d’années d’expérience des efforts de conservation participatifs dans le monde.

Aux Comores, il y a un réel manque de données scientifiques permettant d’identifier et d’orienter les interventions de conservation. C’est pourquoi le Projet ECDD, qui a donné naissance à Dahari, a fixé comme objectif la constitution d’une large base de données écologiques et la création de cartes forestières et de modèles de distribution des espèces menacées. Maintenant que ce travail de base est réalisé, Dahari cherche à élaborer des initiatives de conservation sur la base des priorités identifiées. Découvrez nos actions de conservation.

Autres activités de conservation