The biodiversity of the Comoros

As an archipelago of small volcanic islands, the Comoros does not have a high level of species diversitydue to its recent formation in geologic terms. However, it is home to a large number of endemic species.

The Comoro Islands form part of Madagascar’s biodiversity ‘hotspot’, which include the other islands in the Indian Ocean (Mauritius, Réunion, Rodrigues and Seychelles). This area is considered to be one of the five ‘hottest’ biodiversity spotsin the worlddue to the large number of species that are found here and nowhere else on the planet. The animals and plants which reached these islands wereseparated from their species and evolved independently to become new species in their own right.However, evolving in isolation has made them vulnerable to new threats and changes in their environment.

Approximately 2000 species of plants are listed in the Comoros and there is a significant link between the flora of the Comoros and that in Madagascar and East Africa. Amongst endemic species found in the Comoros are Weinmannia comorensis, Ocotea comorensis and Saba comorensis.

101 species of birds, 56 of them endemics, can also be found here.Each island has its own endemic species –19 in Anjouan, 27 in Grande Comore and 22 in Mohéli –several of which are considered to be endangered. The Scops Owl is a striking example, witha different species in every island – the Karthala Scops Owl (Otus pauliani), endemic to Grande Comore, the Mohéli Scops Owl (Otus moheliensis) and the Anjouan Scops Owl (Otus capnodes). These owls are currently classified as ‘Critically Endangered’ on the IUCN Red Listof Threatened Species.

The Comoro Islands are also home to a rich and dense variety of reptiles, such as geckos, chameleons, snakes and skinks. There are 24 species of reptile, 10 of which are endemics. Two of the best known are the St Johann’s Tree Snake (Lycodryassancti johannis), which is classified as ‘Near Threatened’ and the Comoro Ground Gecko (Paroedurasancti johannis), considered to be ‘Threatened’, according to the IUCN.

62 species of butterflies are also listed, 14 of them endemics and 21 endemic subspecies. In Anjouan, 40 species of butterfly are listed, 16 of them endemics and sub-endemics. Several species of butterfly in the Comoros are threatened; in particular, theFalse Chief or False Diadem, also known as Pseudacrealucretia comorana.

Back to conservation

La biodiversité des Comores

En tant qu’archipel composé de petites îles volcaniques, les Comores n’abritent pas une grande diversité spécifique  car les îles ont été formées très récemment sur l’échelle géologique. Cependant, on y trouve de nombreuses espèces endémiques.

Les îles des Comores constituent une partie du ‘hotspot’ de biodiversité de Madagascar en terme de biodiversité, lequel inclut d’autres îles de l’Océan indien  (Maurice, Réunion, Rodrigues et Seychelles). Cette zone est considérée comme l’un des cinq points “les plus chauds” du monde en raison du nombre élevé d’espèces rencontrées uniquement dans cette zone et nulle part ailleurs sur la planète. Les animaux et les plantes ayant atteint ces îles ont été isolés de leur espèce et beaucoup d’entre eux ont évolué de manière indépendante pour constituer de nouvelles espèces à part entière. Cependant, leur évolution de façon isolée les a rendus très vulnérables aux modifications de leur  environnement et aux nouvelles menaces.

Aux Comores, on dénombre environ 2000 espèces de plantes. Il existe une importante ressemblance entre la flore des Comores et celle de Madagascar et de l’Afrique de l’Est. Parmi les espèces endémiques existant au Comores, on peut citer le Weinmannia comorensis, Ocotea comorensis et Saba comorensis.

On peut rencontrer également 101 espèces d’oiseaux dont 56 espèces endémiques. Chaque île a ses spécificités pour les oiseaux endémiques à savoir: 19 à Anjouan, 27 à la Grande Comore et 22 à Mohéli,  dont plusieurs sont considérées comme menacées. A titre d’exemple frappant, nous pouvons citer les petits ducs dont chaque île abrite une espèce spécifique : le petit duc du Karthala (Otus pauliani) endémique de l’île de Grande Comore, le petit duc de Mohéli (Otus moheliensis) et le petit duc d’Anjouan (Otus capnodes) qui sont à présent classés comme étant en Danger Critique sur la liste rouge de l’IUCN des espèces menacées.

Les îles comoriennes abritent aussi une riche diversité et densité de reptiles tels que les geckos, caméléon, serpents et  scinques. Les trois îles abritent 24 espèces de reptiles dont 10 endémiques.  Deux des plus connus sont le St. Johann’s tree snake (Lycodryas sanctijohannis), qui est classifié comme ‘’presque menacé’, et le Comoro ground gecko (Paroedura sanctijohannis) qui est considéré comme ‘Menacé’ selon l’IUCN.

On recense également 62 espèces de papillons dont 14 espèces endémiques et 21 sous espèces endémiques. Au niveau d’Anjouan, on dénombre 40 espèces de papillons dont 16 sont endémiques et sous endémiques. Plusieurs espèces de papillons des Comores sont menacées; la plus remarquable est le papillon grande queue aussi  connu comme Pseudacrea lucretia comorana.

Autres activités de conservation